Rest, Reflect, Refocus, Re-center

I have been talking to someone who can help we refocus my life and my ministry.  I have a counselor and a coach and both are encouraging me to rest, refocus, re-center and reflect.  It is easier said than done….I have always been a work-a-holic.  I worked in retail for years and in those years the one who was idle didn’t succeed and didn’t get the promotion.  It is funny that it seems that the world is the exact same no matter what position you may have. Work hard, work 7 days, work 10+ hours a day and then you will succeed.  When my coach first asked me about my days of rest I said honestly I figured my day of rest would be the day I am buried 6 feet under the earth.  Of course she did say well that will come a lot sooner if you keep the pace you are going.  Now this is not for some people to abuse it and say every time you are off it is sabbath rest but there is a fine balance and believe me I am not the best at it.

However…I am trying.  I want to be a great husband, a great dad, a great friend/neighbor and a great pastor but I have realized I can’t be at my best unless I take time to rest, refocus,  re-center and reflect.  This is as important as exercise is to the body but also the soul.  I hit the Scriptures to look for those places where rest was talked about and from Genesis where God rested on the 7th day to Jesus going off to pray and so on.  There is this sense that rest has to become intentional.  It is so hard to just chill  and do nothing.  I feel like it is me wasting time but what I am slowly and I mean slowly learning is that this is extremely important.

Society/the world says work hard, work every day and your value is based on the hours you put in.  God says your value is based on resting at Jesus’ feet.  Matthew 11:28-30 says;  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

This passage reflects the salvation that is in Christ but it is also a reflection of the value that Christ has for people.  Come….rest…my life is a way to release those burdens, those struggles, come and take rest for your soul.  Jesus is the Lord of the sabbath (Matthew 12:8) and it is in this sabbath that each of us (me big time) can find rest, refocus, reflection, and a re-centering.  God made sabbath for us…Mark 2:27 says it was made FOR humankind.  So while the world says work till you die….Jesus says rest so that you may have life and have it to the full.   Come take a rest with me….I need it…..

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

