CONFESSION AND PARDON

This time of year brings a lot of reflection and just pause to think about what life holds and where we are in our own space.  New Years brings resolution but Lent seems to bring more resolve. As people focus on their own spirituality this time of year let us pause to see what we have been entrusted to do.  There is an element of service that we are called to give our best to the world and community.  There is this sense of making the world a better place and how can we do that?  Some might say it is environmental things, serving those in the margins or pouring into kids in schools, etc…  In all these things there is one over ending resolve and that it is to treat others as we would want to be treated.  The golden rule is what some might say but in my life I believe in a greater power and authority that rests in Jesus.  Now not all of you may stand where I stand and that is ok but just keep reading.  I read stories of Jesus trying to make the world better one person at a time and then in the end offering his life to make the whole world better.  Now I know that I will never make the whole world better but I do believe as Jesus did and that I can help one person at a time.  It is leaning on the belief of loving God and loving people.  I want to love people as much as my God loves me.  There are those days though where my life doesn’t look like love and it is in this time of year makes me pause, reflect and find resolve.

Part of my resolve is helping serve every couple weeks at a homeless meal program and I don’t do it because I am trying to serve some kind of penitence or need volunteer hours but it is something that is more of a need.  I need to be in the dirt, I need to be in the ditch, I need to love people, I need to serve those that need love/deserve love.  So why can’t I love them?  Why can’t I value them more than  myself?  That’s it!!!  Philippians 2:3 “Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves…”  My resolve for Lent is to value and love people no matter what….NO gaps, NO “but those people”, NO “look at what they have done”, NO “they are not like you.”  I will resolve to LOVE and that is it…

Merciful God, I confess that I have not loved you with MY whole heart.

I have failed to be an obedient church person.

I have not done your will,

   I have broken your law,

   I have rebelled against your love,

   I have not loved MY neighbors,

   and I have not heard the cry of the needy.

Forgive ME, I pray.

Free ME for joyful obedience,

      through Jesus Christ MY Lord. Amen!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

